Artefact 5 – lesson plan

I developed this lesson plan as part of  one of my other classes, Information Professional as Teacher and Collaborator.

The assignment was to develop an information literacy course of my choice.  I created a scenario where I was designing a programme for individuals who had been employed for 15 or more years with the same company but who were now being made redundant.   In this scenario, the individuals in question needed to be taught how to use social media to hunt for new jobs.

Sample lesson planThe lesson plan laid out the objectives and goals for the course, as well as a sample time schedule for a 90 minute class.   I found this an interesting challenge.  I had to determine what were the key pieces of information which would be required by the students, what the teacher would need to communicate, what the homework would be and the equipment which would be required in order to teach the class.

It was an engaging experience and I really enjoyed it.  In fact, it made me think that perhaps lecturing would be a potential career avenue.   I’ll certainly be doing some more research into the teaching side of things over the coming months.

About Caroline

Librarian. Bibliophile. Information seeker and sharer. “Life would be unbearably dull if we had answers to all our questions.” ― Jim Butcher, Death Masks
This entry was posted in Artefacts, Classwork reflection, Communication and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

