Hack Library School – The tweet is out there

This week we were invited to join Hack Library Schools’ Day in the Life project where we were to either Tweet or Blog (or both) about life as an LIS student.  Given the volume of workload we have coming up I elected to Tweet my way through the week.  Of course the challenge with this is, how do you communicate what’s going on in just 140 characters?    Can you really give someone the feel for how your day is going?

Well, to start with you become economical with your language – Using text speak is of course a no-no, not only because I am a future librarian, but also because I sit firmly on Lynne Truss’s side of the fence when it comes to grammar and spelling.  I may have to change my prose but that helps me be a better writer (Tweeter?) I hope.  Instead of the wordy prose I am prone to on occasion, I edit, then rephrase, then edit again, before finally publishing.

Of course I can also dash off a quick tweet without all the editorial.  After all, it is perfectly possible to have a thought that’s less than 140 characters.   Plus, an unexpected benefit of participation in this project is that I am getting less self-conscious about tweeting.   I haven’t been on Twitter long and I still find the idea that someone would want to follow my    ideas a rather unusual situation.   Nonetheless I persist.

I’ve also begun sharing YouTube links and interesting articles that I come across (go me for extending my comfort zone all the time).  Now that part is fun.  Yesterday I shared a YouTube link  to a copyright video composed of Disney clips which had been shown to us in class as a demonstration of Fair Use.   Apart from being highly entertaining, it also got the point across very well.  I really like that I can use Twitter to share these things and hopefully as the week progresses I’ll find a few more jewels to share.

About Caroline

Librarian. Bibliophile. Information seeker and sharer. “Life would be unbearably dull if we had answers to all our questions.” ― Jim Butcher, Death Masks
This entry was posted in Classwork reflection, Communication and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

